How to get in the best programming school

Nuno Miguel Ferraz
4 min readFeb 7, 2024

I started the year with a new and significant challenge, a challenge stemming from a commitment to invest in my education and specialization. What I wasn’t expecting was for it to be so transformative.

“Yes, but what challenge was that?” Fair question. The challenge was nothing less than starting my entry process into School 42 (Porto), the so-called Piscine.

School 42 Porto

What is School 42? What is the Piscine?

School 42 is a unique educational institution that adopts an innovative model. Forget traditional teachers here! Learning is entirely practical, and students are encouraged to explore and solve problems on their own.

The Piscine is a deep dive into this world of practical learning. But what does “Piscine” mean? At School 42, it’s an intensive immersion period where participants face challenges, solve problems, and build projects. It’s an exciting test that goes beyond technical skills, exploring the resilience and creativity of each individual.

Now, let’s talk a bit more about my context

I came across various news articles highlighting the school’s uniqueness and its revolutionary teaching method. Driven by growing curiosity, I decided to take the online tests to apply for the much-discussed Piscine.

Before this chapter, I had already paved a path in the field of Information Technology, with a professional course that included practical projects and a six-month internship. However, the quest for knowledge did not confine itself to classrooms. I have always been a proponent of self-directed learning, facing challenges through research, discussions with peers, and, when necessary, taking a break to come back with a renewed perspective.

The decision to embark on the Piscine was courageous, but I admit I went in with a general idea, not exactly knowing what I was preparing for. My biggest concern was communication, aware that to thrive, I would need to connect with as many people as possible.

In the pre-Piscine period, my approach was simple: research, research, and research. Every detail about School 42 and the Piscine was meticulously examined, an attempt to feel more secure about what I was about to face.

The people who accompanied me in this experience

The Piscine, and its incredible challenges and projects

The structure of the Piscine is fascinating. For 26 days, participants dive into challenging projects, work in teams, face obstacles, and, of course, code tirelessly. There’s no room for boring theoretical classes here — it’s all about hands-on learning!

During the Piscine, we are confronted with challenges that test our problem-solving skills. From developing efficient algorithms to creating innovative projects, each day is a new adventure. Memories of nights working intensely, supporting colleagues, and celebrating small victories — all of this is part of this unique experience.

Personal Reflections: The Developer’s Journey in the Piscine

My participation in the Piscine was more than just coding. It was a journey of self-discovery, overcoming challenges, and forming lasting friendships. From the first functional code to the final presentations, each step was an achievement.

By immersing myself in Piscine activities, I quickly realized it was not just about writing code. It was about redefining my own limits, overcoming obstacles that initially seemed insurmountable. Each challenge overcome was a personal victory and a constant reminder that the journey was worthwhile.

One of the most pleasant surprises was the incredible community at School 42. During the Piscine, everyone is on the same challenging journey, and camaraderie among participants is palpable. Sharing knowledge, helping each other, and celebrating collective successes created a unique and inspiring learning environment.

The Piscine projects were true learning catalysts. Creating innovative solutions, solving complex problems, and working as a team became integral parts of my daily life. Each project was an opportunity to apply newly acquired knowledge and, at the same time, learn something new.

An Experience Worth It!

If you’re thinking about diving into the School 42 Piscine, my answer is: go for it! This experience will challenge you, inspire you, and transform you as a developer. The Piscine is not just a test of technical skills; it’s a journey that shapes character and a passion for programming.

Now, after completing the Piscine on January 2nd, I am eagerly awaiting confirmation by email about my entry into the School 42 course. My goal is clear: to join and thrive in the course. I firmly believe that this journey will not only prepare me for future professional challenges but also transform me into a professional that companies seek.

I hope this brief journey through School 42 and the Piscine has sparked your curiosity.

It’s worth mentioning that I am also working on compiling all the projects I developed in the Piscine with complete documentation. So stay tuned here, or check my GitHub at https://github.com/nmferraz or my personal website https://nmferraz.space.

Until next time!

--

--